top of page

International Machiavelli Society - Inaugural conference

December 13-16 2023, Rome


WEDNESDAY, 13/12/2023 (Sala Protomoteca Piazza del Campidoglio n. 55) 9:00-12:00 Opening Session at the Campidoglio (in Italian) Francesco Erspamer (Harvard), Roberto Esposito (Emeritus, Scuola Normale Superiore), Carlo Galli (Emeritus, Università di Bologna), Marco Geuna (Milano “Statale”); chair: Giacomo Marramao (Emeritus, Roma Tre) With the head of the division of Culture of the city of Rome, Miguel Gotor (Roma “Tor Vergata”) 14:00-14:45: Welcome 14:45-15:15 Institutional Addresses 15:15-16:30 Book Discussion 1 PHILOSOPHICAL INTERPRETATIONS OF MACHIAVELLI Alissa M. Ardito (Yale), Filippo Del Lucchese (Bologna); chair: Yannis Evrigenis (Claremont McKenna College) 15 minute break 16:45-18:00 Book Discussion 2 AGAINST CONCORD: MACHIAVELLI’S CONFLICTUALIST THEORY Jérémie Barthas (CNRS Paris), Camila Vergara (Oxford), Yves Winter (McGill); chair: Gabriele Pedullà (Roma Tre) THURSDAY, 14/12/2023 (Università Roma Tre, sede di Lettere, via Ostiense 234) 8:30-9:45 Book Discussion 3 MACHIAVELLI’S LEGACY I Gianfranco Borrelli (Emeritus, Napoli “Federico II”), Maria Cristina Figorilli (Università della Calabria), Alessandro Arienzo (Napoli “Federico II”); chair: Luca Scuccimarra (Roma “La Sapienza”) 15 minute break 10:00-11:30 Book Discussion 4 MACHIAVELLI’S LEGACY II Vittorio Morfino (Milano “Bicocca”), Piero Innocenti (formerly Università della Tuscia, Viterbo, <bibliografiamachiavelliana@gmail.com>; personal address: <piero.innocenti1945@gmail.com>), Giuseppe Sciara (Bologna); chair: Andrea Robiglio (Leuven) 15 minute break 11:45-13:00 Plenary Lectures 1 Maurizio Viroli (Emeritus, Princeton), Alessandro Campi (Perugia); chair: Mario De Caro (Roma Tre) 14:00-15:15 Panels 1 (please see below) 15:15-16:30 Panels 2 (please see below) 15 minute break 16:45-18:00 Book Discussion 5 MACHIAVELLI’S NEW CANON Daniele Conti (Firenze), William Landon (Kentucky), Pasquale Stoppelli (Roma “La Sapienza”); chair: Giulio Ferroni (Emeritus, Roma “La Sapienza”) 15 minute break 18:15-19:30 Plenary Lectures 2 Nadia Urbinati (Columbia), John McCormick (Chicago); chair: Judith Frömmer (University of Vienna) FRIDAY, 15/12/2023 (Università Roma Tre, sede di Lettere, via Ostiense 234) 8:30-9:45 Book Discussion 6 A NEGLECTED MASTERWORK: THE FLORENTINE HISTORIES Mark Jurdjevic (York), Fabio Raimondi (Padova); chair: Carlo Varotti (Parma) 15 minute break 10:00-11:15 Book Discussion 7 READING MACHIAVELLI 1 Marta Celati (Firenze), Andrea Guidi (Bologna), Francesco Marchesi (Pisa); chair: Romain Descendre (ENS Lyon) 15 minute break 11:30-12:45 Plenary Lectures 3 Cornel Zwierlein (Bochum), Jean-Louis Fournel (Paris 8), Gaetano Lettieri (Roma “La Sapienza”); chair: Emanuele Cutinelli-Rendina (Strasbourg) 14:00-15:15 Panels 3 (please see below) 15:15-16:30 Panels 4 (please see below) 15 minute break 16:45-17:30 International Machiavelli Society Lifetime Achievement Award Presentation and Talk Yannis Evrigenis (Claremont McKenna College) presents Harvey Mansfield (Emeritus, Harvard) 17:30-18:30 Dinner for the members of the International Machiavelli Society 16/12/2023 SATURDAY (Università Roma Tre, sede di Lettere, via Ostiense 234) 8:30-9:45 Book Discussion 8 READING MACHIAVELLI 2 Sandro Landi (Bordeaux), Carlo Paviani (Teramo), Andrea Salvo Rossi (Napoli); chair: Sean Erwin (Barry) 15 minute break 10:00-11:15 Book Discussion 9 HOW SHOULD WE WRITE MACHIAVELLI’S LIFE? Christopher Celenza (Johns Hopkins), Alexander Lee (Warwick), Jean-Claude Zancarini (Emeritus, ENS Lyon); chair: Alessandro Ferrara (Roma “Tor Vergata”) 15 minute break 11:30-12:45 Plenary Lectures 4 Gaetano Lettieri (Roma La Sapieza), Giovanni Giorgini (Bologna); chair: Guido Cappelli (Napoli “L’Orientale”) 13:00-13:15 Farewell Address PANELS ROOM A: THE OTHER MACHIAVELLI 1. Machiavelli and Historiography (12/14, 14:00-15:15) 
“Machiavelli, universal history, and perennial philosophy” Gabor Almasi, almasi.gabor@gmail.com

“ Il Dibattito inefficace” nelle Istorie fiorentine di Machiavelli Kazutaka Muraki, University of Tokyo, kmuraki0325@gmail.com 
“La tirannide del Duca d’Atene nelle Istorie fiorentine, tra storiografia e mito politico” Valentina Serio, valentina.serio23@gmail.com 2. Comedy, letters, literary works (12/14, 15:15-16:30) 
“The New Prince and the People in Machiavelli’s Comedies” Yufei Zhao, Boston College, yufeiz@bc.edu 
“Mandragola, (Homo)Sexuality and Princely Virtue” Davorin Žagar, Adolfo Ibáñez University, zagar.davo@gmail.com “Prudence and Virtue in Machiavelli’s Administrative Letters” Andrea Polegato, California State University, Fresno, apolegato@mail.fresnostate.edu 3. Machiavelli and poetry during the Italian Wars (12/15, 14:00-15:15) 
“Collocare i Capitoli nel laboratorio machiavelliano: Tre esempi dal De Ambitione” Claudia Antonini, Columbia University, ca2760@columbia.edu 
“Storia e leggenda di Cesare Borgia: Machiavelli e i poemetti bellici in ottava rima” Anna Carocci, Università degli Studi Roma Tre, anna.carocci@uniroma3.it 
“Machiavelli e la letteratura storico-politica di carattere “popolareggiante”” Andrea Talarico, Università di Firenze, andrea.talarico@unifi.it 4. Machiavelli on War. (12/15, 15:15-16:30) 
“Machiavelli’s Art of War” Katherine Robiadek, Xavier University, Robiadekk@xavier.edu 
“Le traduzioni europee dell’Arte della guerra e la creazione di un sapere politico-militare” Sanavia Giacomo, Université Paris8-Università degli Studi di Padova (J.-L. Fournel-A. Petrina), giacomo.sanavia@yahoo.it 
“Grave Levity” Christopher Lynch, University of Missouri, christopherlynch@missouristate.edu ROOM B: MACHIAVELLI’S RECEPTION I 1. Machiavelli in Guicciardini and Giannotti (12/14, 14:00-15:15) 
“Machiavelli’s Constitutional Writings and Guicciardini’s Dialogue: a New Interpretation” Gio’ Maria Tessarolo, University of California – Berkeley, giomaria_tessarolo@berkeley.edu 
“Machiavelli, Giannotti and the mixed republic model” Francesca Russo, fra.russo1972@gmail.com 2. Machiavelli in Renaissance Italy (12/14, 15:15-16:30) 
“Democracy and Empire in The Discourse on Livy” Max Smith, University of Chicago, max5470@uchicago.edu “L’antimachiavellismo nel primo Botero: in Nicolaum Macchiavellum digressio” Chiara Silvagni, silvagni.1549936@studenti.uniroma1.it 
“Machiavelli e Vico: ritorno all’origine” Gennaro Maria Barbuto, gennaro.barbuto@outlook.com 3. Machiavelli in the Netherlands (12/15, 14:00-15:15) “Before Lipsius: Varieties of (anti) machiavellism in the early Dutch Revolt” Alberto Clerici, Università Niccolò Cusano, alberto.clerici@unicusano.it 
“Ubi Leonina pellis non pertingit, oportet Vulpinam assuere: Giusto Lipsio lettore e interprete di Machiavelli” Tiziana Provvidera, University College London, t.provvidera@ucl.ac.uk 4. Machiavelli in Central Europe (12/15, 15:15-16:30) “Intorno al carteggio di Cartesio con Elisabetta del Palatinato sul Principe di Machiavelli” Simona Langella, Università degli Studi di Genova, langellauni@gmail.com “Fiat iustitia, pereat Germania. Il Machiavelli tedesco, il Fiorentino, e la fine dell’Impero” Valerio Aparo, ENS Lyon, v.aparo@campus.uniurb.it 

“Machiavellus sine Machiavello” Nicola Di Cosmo & Giorgia Lauri, ndc@ias.edu ROOM C: MACHIAVELLI’S RECEPTION II 1. Machiavelli in Renaissance France (12/14, 14:00-15:15)

 “Machiavelli’s Thoughts on the Monarchical Form of Government” Carlos E. Pérez Crespo, cperezcrespo@gmail.com “Two Faces of Humanism: Machiavelli and Montaigne” David Polansky, polanskyd@gmail.com 
“«Antimachiavéliste d’intention… machiavéliste qui s’ignore». Reading Machiavelli in Jean Bodin’s Six Livres de la République and De Republica libri sex” Anna Di Bello, Suor Orsola Benincasa Napoli, adibello.unisob.na@gmail.com 
2. Machiavelli between Italy and England (12/14, 15:15-16:30) 
“Directing the body politics? On Machiavelli and Castiglione’s use of embodiment” Lucia Delaini, Northwestern University, delainil@u.northwestern.edu 
“Machiavelli e Alberico Gentili, un’eredità nascosta tra parallelismi e pensiero politico” Stefano Colavecchia, Università degli studi del Molise, stefano.colavecchia@gmail.com 
“Monarchy and Machiavelli: The translation of the Discourses and The Prince in seventeenth-century England” Charlotte McCallum, Queen Mary, University of London, c.l.l.mccallum@qmul.ac.uk 
3. Machiavelli in Modern Italian Literature (12/15, 14:00-15:15) 
“Machiavelli in Leopardi” Gianluca Sadun Bordoni, Università di Teramo, gsadunbordoni@unite.it 
“La ricezione di Machiavelli durante la transizione dall’idealismo risorgimentale al positivismo” Marco Borrelli, marcofda@hotmail.it, 
“Machiavelli, Gadda e l’ironia” Corrado Confalonieri, University of Salento, Lecce, corrado.claverini@unisalento.it 
4. Machiavelli and China (12/15, 15:15-16:30) “Qin Dynasty’s destruction and the perspectives of The Prince Book IV” Han Chao & Sheng Zhe, Tongji University, 842243580@qq.com 
“Political virtue and communal values: similarities and differences between Machiavelli and Chinese Philosophy” BAI Jianxing, Fudan University, jxbai21@m.fudan.edu.cn 
“Reexamining Machiavelli’s Concept of Virtue” Jia Xin Li/Veronica, philjiaxin@gmail.com 
ROOM D: MACHIAVELLI ON BELIEVING AND DECEIVING 
1. Machiavelli’s Dialogue with the Past (12/14, 14:00-15:15) 
“Machiavelli, Xenophon and the education of the good statesman” Alina Scudieri, Università di Bologna, alina.scudieri@unibo.it 
“Did Machiavelli Know Augustine?” Colleen Mitchell, Villanova University, colleen.mitchell@villanova.edu “On Machiavelli’s shoulders: some considerations on the role of history in Niccolò Machiavelli’s political reasoning,” Augusto Dolfo, augustondolfo@gmail.com 2. Machiavelli’s Theology (12/14, 15:15-16:30) 
“Theodicy in Machiavelli’s Thought: Salvation from “Human Misery” and the Role of Politics” Yuki Yokoo, Graduate School of Political Science, Waseda University, yuki.0421@asagi.waseda.jp

 “E chi legge la Bibia sensatamente: Machiavelli on Exodus 32” Hugo Tavera Villegas, hugo.tavera@tec.mx 
“Machiavelli’s An Exhortation to Penitence: A Reeducation for the Florentine People” Rebecca McCumbers Flavin, Baylor University, rebecca_flavin@baylor.edu 
3. Machiavelli’s Vision and Spectacle (12/15, 14:00-15:15) 
“On the role of perspective in Machiavelli’s The Prince” Jan Bíba, jan.biba@ff.cuni.cz 
“Machiavelli’s representation concepts”
 Miguel Fernández de la Peña, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, miguef04@ucm.es 
4. Machiavelli, Savonarola, and Religion (12/15, 15:15-16:30) 
“Machiavelli, Savonarola, and the Reconceptualization of Partisanship” David Ragazzoni, Columbia University, david.ragazzoni@columbia.edu “Un termometro della crisi: Machiavelli osservatore di Savonarola” Francesco Patrone, Università degli Studi di Perugia – Université Catholique de Lyon francescopatrone1996@libero.it, francesco.patrone1@studenti.unipg.it 
“Rethinking Machiavelli’s Civic Religion” Daniel Kapust and Timothy Tennyson, University of Wisconsin-Madison, djkapust@wisc.edu ROOM E: MACHIAVELLI’S POLITICS 1. Machiavelli and the Prince (12/14, 14:00-15:15) 
“The People’s Prince: Machiavelli and Populist Statesmanship” Mathis Bitton, Yale University, mathis.bitton@yale.edu 
“Machiavelli and the Aristotelian Tradition on the Wisdom of the Many” Alessandro Mulieri, University of Pennsylvania/Università di Venezia, alessandro.mulieri@gmail.com 
“The double deception of tyranny with popular support in Machiavelli” Fernanda Elias, fernanda.salgueiro@usp.b 2. The Discourses on Livy (12/14, 15:15-16:30) 
“Per una nuova edizione dei Discorsi sopra la prima deca di Tito Livio” Martina Cita and Paolo Trovato, Università di Ferrara, martina.cita@unife.it, trp@unife.it 
”Machiavelli against Sovereignty: the case of the Decemvirate” Eero Arum, UC Berkeley, eero.arum@berkeley.edu 
”Machiavelli’s essential virtues of the vita civile” Fiorella Battaglia, University of Salento, Lecce and Ludwig-Maximilians-University, Munich, fiorella.battaglia@unisalento.it 3. Society, Economy, and State in Machiavelli’s Political Thought (12/15, 14:00-15:15) Moderator: Adam Woodhouse, University of Cambridge, ajw263@cam.ac.uk 
“The state of nature and the nature of the state in Machiavelli’s Discourses” Jeff Dymond, Universität Zürich, jeffrey.dymond@uzh.ch 
“Liberality and fiscal governance in Machiavelli’s The Prince” Giorgio Lizzul, Univeristy of Warwick, Giorgio.Lizzul@warwick.ac.uk 
“Machiavelli and the “Machiavellians”: Machiavelli, the Elite Tradition, and the critique of plutocracy” Natasha Piano, UCLA, npiano@ucla.edu 4. Machiavelli’s Political Wisdom (12/15, 15:15-16:30) 
“Arte dello stato” Nedžib Prašević, University of Priština, Kosovska Mitrovica, nedzib.prasevic@pr.ac.rs 
“Nobility in the Thought of Machiavelli” Hillay Zmora, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, hzmora@bgu.ac.il 
“Institutional and Extra-institutional conflicts in Machiavelli’s Discourses” Piao Mao, University of Southampton, p.mao@soton.ac.uk ROOM F: 1. Machiavelli’s Passions (12/14, 14:00-15:15) “The role of passions in Machiavelli’s republican thought” Christiane Cardoso Ferreira, University of São Paulo chris.cardosoferreira@gmail.com “Machiavelli: Animality and Republic” Gonzalo Bustamente Kuschel, gonzalo.bustamante@uai.cl “«The Greatest Master There Is»: The Roles of Fear in Niccolò Machiavelli’s The Prince” Alessio Panichi, apanich2@jhu.edu 2. Machiavelli’s Natural Philosophy (12/14, 15:15-16:30) 
“Nature and Politics: Machiavelli’s Early Constitutionalism” David Rasmussen, david.rasmussen@bc.edu 
“Machiavellian Democracy against Republicanism: in the Light of Machiavelli’s Philosophy of Life” Francesco Maiolo, Università Roma Tre, francesco.maiolo@uniroma3.it 
“Humors, incommensurability and heavenly motions: the overlooked Medieval Machiavelli” Nicole Hochner, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, nicole.hochner@mail.huji.ac.il 3. Machiavelli and Contemporary Theory (12/15, 14:00-15:15) 
“Centaur and Multitude: Machiavelli and the Italian philosophical and political debate in recent decades”
 Dario Gentili, dario.gentili@uniroma3.it “Machiavelli and the Italian Thought” Corrado Claverini, Università del Salento, c.claverini@gmail.com 
“Brexit: In advance of the June 2016 referendum, what would Machiavelli have advised the British Public to do?” Michael Sanfey, Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies, European University Institute (Florence), Michael.Sanfey@eui.eu 4. Machiavelli Today (12/15, 15:15-16:30) 
“Machiavelli e Carl Schmitt: La balia come stato di eccezione” Finlay Darlington-Bell, Harvard University, finlaybell@g.harvard.edu 
“Democrazia e volontà generale nazionale nel pensiero di Niccolò Machiavelli e Carl Schmitt” Orazio Gnerre, oraziognerre@gmail.com 
“Il Segretario fiorentino alla luce dei digital studies: un laboratorio di scrittura politica” Corinne Manchio, Université Paris 8, corinne.manchio@univ-montp3.fr



19 visualizzazioni
bottom of page